Podcast in the Classroom

Podcasts by Mingo.nl.

ES. (2007, December 24). Podcasts. Mingo.nl’s photostream Retrieved October 11, 2009, from http://www.flickr.com/photos/mjhagen/2133732967/

In looking at the various podcasts available through The Educational Podcast Network, I found the podcast series called “Science Made Fun” to be a resource I would use in my classroom.  What I like about this particular series is that it takes phenomenons that middle school age students are curious about and addresses the scientific rationale for why and how they occur.  I like that it addresses misconceptions and explains them in a fun manner (hence the name I suppose).  I would ask students  to use a KWL type worksheet prior to listening to the podcast on a particular topic  and then have them listen to the podcast.  Once they heard the podcast they could address the issues that changed in their understanding of the topic.  I think students would appreciate the presentations of the narrators of the information.  Just like any type of presentation, it is not something you could do everyday, but could be a nice change of pace from a classroom teacher led lecture.

Podcast Link:

http://www.epnweb.org/index.php?request_id=1621&openpod=9#anchor9

One Response to “Podcast in the Classroom”

  1. Chris Halter Says:

    Nice resource. I will have to explore the Educational Podcast Network. The idea of addressing student misconceptions is wonderful and potentially creating a very powerful learning moment.

Leave a comment