Flickr Possibilities 5-A-1

Maple Leaves by Care_SMC.

ES. (2007, September 22). Flowers and Tree. Care SMC.’s Photostream. Retrieved October 10, 2009, from http://www.flickr.com/photos/75491103@N00/1425025309/

I think I would use Flickr in my classroom for various collections of living things.  I teach 7th grade life science and often times it is not environmentally friendly to make collections of living or once living things.  I would potentially use Flickr to make virtual collections.  It might even be cool to do on a Wiki or Blog???????  Here is the beginning of my leaf collection.

3 Responses to “Flickr Possibilities 5-A-1”

  1. Annamae Says:

    Hi Bryan,
    I think your idea to create an electronic leaf collection is a great way to enhance your student’s computer skills.

    Also, I am not sure how collecting leaves for a school project is not environmentally friendly. Getting students to touch nature is pretty important! I teach city kids, took them out to pick leaves and they did not want to touch them because they were dirty! They ran in and used Purell. I think we are losing something…

    Good luck with your plans!! Annamae

  2. Steve Kelly Says:

    Interesting idea. With the annotation tool in Flikr, students could even begin to identify the component parts of a structure, or dissect a specimen.

    And if it were incorporated with a wiki, you wouldn’t need to do all of the work yourself! Students could find the images they thought were most engaging or appropriate, and you could play the roles of moderator/facilitator/manager instead of hunter/gatherer.

    Great idea!

  3. Chris Halter Says:

    This could be a way to teach science, conservations, and technology all at once. You may have taken the idea of “leave only footprints” concept into the 21st century.

Leave a comment